Leadership | Board of Directors

President: Christopher Morgan, MD

Dr. Christopher Morgan is currently the Medical Director of Mercy Health Saint Mary's Sleep Center. He also works as a Neurologist/Neurohospitalist at Mercy Health Saint Mary's Hospital in Grand Rapids, Michigan. He is the program director for the Mercy Health Grand Rapids Neurology residency program at Hauenstein Neurosciences.  He is a Clinical Assistant Professor at Michigan State University College of Human Medicine.  He completed his undergraduate training at University of Michigan. He pursued his medical training at Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine in Dayton, Ohio. He did his Neurology residency training at Loyola University Medical Center in Maywood, Illinois. He then went onto complete his Sleep Medicine Fellowship at University of Michigan Medical Center. 

President Elect: Mohan Dutt, MD

Mohan Dutt MD is a Clinical Assistant Professor at the University of Michigan Department of Neurology where he practices sleep medicine.  He received his bachelor’s degree in Cell and Molecular Biology from the University of Michigan and attended medical school at Saint Georges University. He completed his internal medicine residency training in Phoenix, AZ followed by a sleep medicine fellowship at the University of Colorado/National Jewish Health. He joined the faculty at the University of Michigan in 2018. Dr. Dutt’s clinical interests lie in the associations between sleep apnea and pulmonary disease, specifically pulmonary hypertension. His other interests are clinical education, technology, and content delivery. To this aim, he has created a sleep medicine focused podcast and website as a means to increase access to education. 

Past President: Virginia Skiba, MD

Virginia Skiba, M.D. received her Medical Doctor degree in 2004 when she graduated from the University of Michigan Medical School.  She spent the next 9 years of her career serving in the United States Navy. She completed an Internal Medicine internship and Neurology residency at the National Capital Consortium, Bethesda, MD.  While in the U.S. Navy, she was stationed at the Naval Hospital Twenty Nine Palms where she worked as a Primary Care Provider from 2005 to 2007. From 2010 to 2013 she was stationed at the Naval Hospital Camp Lejeune in NC, where she worked as a Staff Neurologist and Neurology Division Head. Dr. Skiba then completed a Sleep Medicine Fellowship at the University of Michigan.  Currently, she works at the Henry Ford Sleep Disorders and Research Center, where is the Medical Director of the Cottage sleep lab, Section Chief of the Sterling Heights clinic and fellowship Associate Program Director.  She is on the AASM Young Physician’s Presidential Committee.  She has been a member of the MASM since 2014, where she is a member on the Education and Practice Management Committee, member of the Insurance Liaison/Health Policy Committee, and was the Chair of the 2018 Annual Conference Planning Committee.

Secretary & Treasurer: Soumya Madala, MD

Dr. Madala is a board certified internist and sleep medicine specialist. She graduated from medical school at Sri Devraj Urs Medical College, Karnataka, India.  She completed her Internal Medicine residency at St Joseph Mercy Hospital in Ann Arbor. She is a graduate of the University of Michigan Sleep Medicine Fellowship Program. She has been practicing sleep medicine at Mercy Health Sleep center in Grand Rapids since 2011. She has served as a Board of Director at MASM in the past.  She has served the Secretary and Treasurer position since 2018.

Board Member: Cynthia Nichols, PhD., FAASM, C.BSM                                

Cindy Nichols, PhD, DABSM, FAASM, CBSM has served on the MASM Board of Directors for over 20 years and currently practices at Munson Medical Center in Traverse City where she is the Clinical Director.  She is a licensed clinical psychologist and neuropsychologist.  Her clinical interests include sleep disorders in children, parasomnias, cognitive-behavioral treatment of insomnia, circadian rhythm disorders, sleep in traumatic brain injury and post-traumatic stress disorders, and new technologies in sleep measurement.  She has served on several AASM task forces and co-authored systematic reviews on indications for polysomnography in children and on recommended sleep duration in children.  She is an experienced biostatistician and has served as the statistical co-author for publications in a broad range of both sleep and non-sleep areas.  She also serves on the Institutional Review Board at Munson Medical Center.

Board Member: Gita Gupta, MD 

Gita Gupta, MD is a Sleep Medicine researcher at the University of Michigan where her clinical practice focuses on pediatric and adult sleep.  She received her medical degree and completed residency training in combined Internal Medicine and Pediatrics at Wayne State University/Children's Hospital of Michigan. She completed her Sleep Medicine fellowship at the University of Michigan.  Her clinical interests include pediatric sleep disorders, early prevention of adult illness, adolescent medicine, social determinants of health, and health policy.  Her research interests include studying the interface between genetics and sleep, and the sleep of infants and young children.  

Board Member: Maria P. Tovar Torres, MD

Maria Tovar Torres, MD is Sleep medicine Physician. She obtained her medical degree from Universidad de La Sabana in her home city, Bogota. Her Internal Medicine residency was done at Indiana University and Eastern Virginia Medical School. She completed her Sleep Medicine training at the Detroit Medical Center/ Wayne State University fellowship program in 2015. Dr. Tovar Torres has a special interest in teaching. She currently is the coordinator for the medical students, residents and fellows rotating within the Division of Sleep Medicine at Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit. She has developed a special interest in Central Sleep apnea. She is the clinical coordinator for the Inspire program currently and will be the coordinator for the Respicardia program once it takes off in the near future. 

Administrative Assistant: Karen Carter. 

MASM | 3031 West Grand Blvd, Suite #645, Detroit, MI 48202 | Phone: (313) 874-1360, ext 303 | Fax: (313) 874-1366 | Email: kcarter@wcmssm.org

Copyright 2014: MASM, All Rights Protected


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software